Taking in the Cement in a Starbucks Drive-Thru…

I encountered some serious concrete at the Reseda, CA @starbucks drive thru, because I was running to get the plate # of an SUV whose driver had stolen from the tip jar. They just casually boosted it as they pulled away.

I wrestled out of my seat belt, and took three steps before I fell, hit my shoulder on a pole, landed on both knees, and jammed my left leg. (I think now it may be that my left hamstring gave out.) I started crying from pain and frustration, sent David after the SUV to get the plate numbers when he got out of the car to help me. (He couldn’t catch it.)

The #Starbucks employees (and the people behind us) did…not a damn thing. The barista (Krystina) and three shift supervisors (Damian, Marian, and Kevin O) knew (husband and I went inside to talk to them) I was down on the curb and crying and elected to do nothing to help because of “sketchy” (Damian’s word) people in the neighborhood. We were dressed for a party, we didn’t look remotely dangerous, poor, ill, or whatever #sketchy means to shift supers.

David took me to the ER. Every bump of the ride made me cry harder. Ever have a Charley horse, a muscle spasm? Everything from butt and groin to below my knee feels like it’s twisted together in an over-tight rope.

More later.

3 thoughts on “Taking in the Cement in a Starbucks Drive-Thru…

  1. Oof. That really, really sucks. Probably not the first time they’ve had their tip jar lifted, and probably just too apathetic to follow through … but that’s even more sad and disheartening because they should have realized one of their *patrons* hurt themselves trying to defend their tips. Yikes. If they’re that hesitant to do anything whatsoever, I’m not sure that’s a location I would want to return to. And Reseda isn’t *that* sketchy.

  2. I’ve been in touch with a number of Starbuckscustimer service people, and I’m satisfied with how they’re handling it.

Leave a Reply

